SAWO Champ Program: Episode 1 - The Beginnings

SAWO Champ Program: Episode 1 - The Beginnings

·

2 min read

The email "Congratulations, you are selected for SAWO Champ Program Cohort 2" filled me with happy feelings. I got extremely excited for the new beginnings that I was going to have by being a part of this 6-month program.

9cb3f7c1-a4d0-4b35-a1e1-481fd5ed82fc.webp

We all were onboarded on SAWO's official discord server where I received my neon-green role-tag testifying my existence as a "Developer Champ". I noticed a lot of familiar faces, people whom I had seen before, worked with before, and wanted to interact with before. The team welcomed us in an extremely friendly manner (perks of being in student programs - everyone treats you really well). I noticed in addition to being a part of the main group, I was also a part of "Hufflepuff SAWO Champs". I said to myself - "Wait, H-A-R-R-Y P-O-T-T-E-R?" and this was when I became a huge fan of the working and the ideas of the community managers.

545fa655-0fc6-43b8-9a0a-ab6437e44a20.webp

During our onboarding call, everyone was provided with really pretty backgrounds for us, and everyone having the same ones made all of us have a feel of being a part of something bigger than ourselves. Ms. Meghna Das, Community Manager at SAWO Labs explained the entire program structure with utmost patience and answered all our queries. We were then introduced to the entire team of SAWO. Only a few hours after the onboarding call, we were sent interest forms to fill out which track would we like to go for which included PM, core engineering, community management, marketing, and design. While I have explored a few of these tracks but am really looking forward to what happens in the ones I haven't, and considering the surprises this community gives to its people, I am fairly certain that whatever they have in store for us is going to really exceed our expectations.

c9b314bc-04dc-4b00-bb26-8dc54e79e47c.webp

I was so intrigued by the activities on the server and the homely feeling, I invited all the people I knew to the community so as to make everyone be a part and contribute to their best possible abilities. You don't know how to join in? Here's the link for you (hehe) - discord.gg/Uah6kARan5

See you there! Do drop your experience in the comment section below!